7 Key Chakras

The 7 Key Chakras

“Everything is energy and that’s all there is to it”

(Albert Einstein)

A picture containing person, indoor, hand, toothbrush

Description automatically generated
We are energy and there are 7 key chakras or energy centres which support our bodies. The word chakra is from the Hindi word meaning “spinning wheel”.  Each chakra spins separately but carries energy to the other chakras, so the healthier the chakras are, the healthier the overall system is.     Each chakra is linked to a particular region in the body and corresponds to a particular sound and light frequency (colour). 
The Root Chakra:“I am responsible for me and my life”. 

Colour: Red                  Element: Earth The root chakra is the foundation upon which all the other chakras rest upon and build from.  It represents the belief that we have to stand on our own two feet and holds the memories of our early childhood experiences.  Do we have what we need to live – health, finances, food, a home? 

Parts of Body: Bone, skeletal structure, legs, feet, base of spine, kidneys, body’s life force, teeth, nails, blood, building of cells, adrenal glands.
The Sacral Chakra: “I am in the flow of life” 

Colour: Orange                 Element: Water The sacral chakra is our creative centre.  It is our emotional container and is linked to the relationship we have with our feelings – do we hold on to or suppress how we feel, or do we support our emotions to move through us and flow like water?     

Parts of Body: Bladder, Prostate, Womb, Pelvis, Hips, Nervous system, lower back, sex organs, large intestine, lumber spine. 
The Solar Plexus Chakra: “I am worthy” 

Colour: Yellow                  Element: Fire The solar plexus chakra is our power house and centre of self-worth and self-belief.  It is how we assert ourselves (or not) in the world. Do we believe and own our personal power?  

Parts of Body: Digestive system, muscles, stomach, liver, diaphragm, gall bladder, lower back, trapdoor of the autonomic nervous system, spleen, pancreas.
The Heart Chakra: “I am love” 

Colour: Green/Pink               Element: Air The heart chakra is the place of unconditional love.  It is how open we are to give and receive love; to forgive ourselves & others.  Our heart connection to ourselves and each other. 
Parts of Body: Heart, chest, circulation, arms, hands, lower lungs, rib cage, skin, upper back, thymus gland.
The Throat Chakra: “I am speaking my truth” 

Colour: Sky Blue                 Element: EtherThe throat chakra is the place where we express our true selves.  We communicate to the world what we have created that is in alignment with our authentic beingness. This is a common chakra where things become stuck. It literally is a bottleneck (shape of neck).  What have we not said that we would like to?  When have we said too much? 

Parts of Body: Mouth, throat, ears, neck, voice, jaw, airways, nape of neck, thyroid and parathyroid glands.
The Third Eye Chakra: “I am insightful” 
Colour: Indigo                 Element: LightThe third eye chakra or the brow centre reflects our ability to imagine, intuit and envision.  We are connecting to our internal knowingness.  How much are we in tune with; trust and follow our intuition, our internal guidance system? 

Parts of Body: Eyes, base of skull, ears, nose, left eye, left brain, sinuses, and pituitary gland.
The Crown Chakra: “I am connected to the universe” 
Colour: Violet/White        Element: AllThe Crown chakra is the place where we connect and receive support, love and guidance from the universe, from a Higher Power.  How connected and open are we to this? 

Parts of Body: Upper skull, skin, cerebral cortex, right eye, right brain, central nervous system, pineal gland.

“We are slowed down sound and light waves, a walking bundle of frequencies tuned into the cosmos. We are souls dressed up in sacred biochemical garments and our bodies are the instruments through which our souls play their music”                   (Albert Einstein)